Increasing citizen-orientation in public organizations

Customer friendliness and the simplification of processes are becoming increasingly important in public organizations [1]. Nevertheless, the perspective of citizens is often overlooked when public organizations design processes and services. In particular, the rise of information and communication technologies (ICT) has led taxpayers to increasingly compare the public sector with the private sector and demand better customer service [1]. However, the public sector is still lagging behind certain seamless user-centric experiences from the private sector [2]. Reasons are stagnating resources, a lack of inhouse ICT competences, and new forms of complex crises (e. g. climate and refugee crises, or COVID) that are no longer solely affecting one department of an administration but rather call for cross-divisional cooperation and coordination.

To address these challenges, innovative concepts and methods are developed in several research streams with the overarching goal to increase the citizen-orientation in public organizations and respond to the higher demands of citizens. We can offer our practical and theoretical expertise for innovative concepts and methods like the following:

Co-Production

Public organizations increasingly co-produce public services with their users. The co-production of public services is generally understood as the involvement of citizens and other actors external to the public administration in the design, production, and provision of public services [3]. Citizens hereby perform the role of a partner rather than a customer in the delivery of public services. Co-production is often seen as a driver for: innovation creation to increase public value in the public sector [4], increased legitimacy, more efficiency and effectiveness of government, and more accountability [5].

Agile organizational practices

Agile is a buzzword that has its origins in software development. Projects in software development were usually processed using the traditional waterfall approach: Each project phase must be completed before the team can progress to the next phase [6]. This sequential process leads to inefficiency, especially because it is difficult to react to external and internal changes and an evaluation is only possible at the end of a whole process [7]. In comparison to the waterfall approach, an agile approach focuses on shorter development phases and radical collaboration with the client, end-user, or citizen in each phase [6]. Agile organizational practices can be understood as an umbrella term or a multi-layered approach [6] that describes a set of routines, structures, and processes (e. g. Scrum, Kanban, cross-functional teams, flat hierarchies, retrospectives, design thinking) which have the overall aim to lead to a cultural change in public organizations [7].

Reducing administrative burden for citizens

Administrative burden (AB) often occur when citizens interact with public organizations. Burden et al. (2012) define AB as an individual’s experience of policy implementation as onerous. Citizens care as much, or more, about the process of their interaction with the state as they do about the outcome [9]. It is therefore central for citizens that they perceive their interaction with the state as fair, equitable, respectful, and empowering [9]. Some AB serve as legitimate purposes - for example to prevent fraud in social welfare programs [9]. However, in many cases, AB impose costs on citizens. Moynihan et al. (2015) distinguish between three kinds of costs for citizens: Learning costs (such as the search process for acquiring information about public services), psychological costs (including intrusive application processes as well as the loss of autonomy and increase in stress arising from program processes) and compliance costs (following administrative rules and requirements).

Are you interested in collaborating with us? We provide consulting services in the strategic planning, implementation, or evaluation of your project.

We look forward to hearing from you:

Neumann.png

Prof. Oliver Neumann
Oliver.Neumann@unil.ch

Kirklies.png

Pascale-Catherine Kirklies (PhD Student and Graduate Assistant)
pascale-catherine.kirklies@unil.ch

References

[1] Indihar Stemberger, M., & Jaklic, J. (2007). Towards E-government by business process change—A methodology for public sector. International Journal of Information Management, 27(4), 221–232. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijinfomgt.2007.02.006

[2] Mergel, I., Gong, Y., & Bertot, J. (2018). Agile government: Systematic literature review and future research. Government Information Quarterly, 35(2), 291–298. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.giq.2018.04.003

[3] Voorberg, W. H., Bekkers, V. J. J. M., & Tummers, L. G. (2015). A Systematic Review of Co-Creation and Co-Production: Embarking on the social innovation journey. Public Management Review, 17(9), 1333–1357. https://doi.org/10.1080/14719037.2014.930505

[4] Bovaird, Tony, & Loeffler, E. (2012). From Engagement to Co-production: The Contribution of Users and Communities to Outcomes and Public Value. VOLUNTAS: International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations, 23(4), 1119–1138. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11266-012-9309-6

[5] Verschuere, B., Brandsen, T., & Pestoff, V. (2012). Co-production: The State of the Art in Research and the Future Agenda. VOLUNTAS: International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations, 23(4), 1083–1101. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11266-012-9307-8

[6] Mergel, I. (2016). Agile innovation management in government: A research agenda. Government Information Quarterly, 33(3), 516–523. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.giq.2016.07.004

[7] Mergel, I., Ganapati, S., & Whitford, A. B. (2020). Agile: A New Way of Governing. Public Administration Review, puar.13202. https://doi.org/10.1111/puar.13202

[8] Burden, B. C., Canon, D. T., Mayer, K. R., & Moynihan, D. P. (2012). The Effect of Administrative Burden on Bureaucratic Perception of Policies: Evidence from Election Administration. Public Administration Review, 72(5), 741–751. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1540-6210.2012.02600.x

[9] Moynihan, D., Herd, P., & Harvey, H. (2015). Administrative Burden: Learning, Psychological, and Compliance Costs in Citizen-State Interactions. Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory, 25(1), 43–69. https://doi.org/10.1093/jopart/muu009

Follow us:        

Unit director

Prof_oliver-neuman_HD-resize450x196.jpg

Prof. Oliver Neumann
+41 21 692 69 20
+41 76 749 72 60
Oliver.Neumann@unil.ch

Rue de la Mouline 28 - CH-1022 Chavannes-près-Renens
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 68 00
Fax +41 21 692 68 09

Renforcement de l'orientation citoyenne dans les organisations publiques

Les organisations publiques accordent de plus en plus d'importance à la satisfaction du client et à la simplification des processus [1]. Néanmoins, le point de vue des citoyens est souvent négligé lorsque les organisations publiques conçoivent des processus et des services. En particulier, l'essor des technologies de l'information et de la communication (TIC) a conduit les contribuables à comparer de plus en plus le secteur public au secteur privé et à exiger un meilleur service clientèle [1]. Cependant, le secteur public est toujours à la traîne par rapport à certaines expériences mieux centrées sur l'utilisateur dans le secteur privé [2]. Les raisons en sont la stagnation des ressources, le manque de compétences internes en matière de TIC et les nouvelles formes de crises complexes (par exemple, les crises climatiques et des réfugiés, ou COVID) qui ne touchent plus seulement un département d'une administration mais nécessitent une coopération et une coordination entre les divisions.

Pour répondre à ces défis, des concepts et des méthodes innovants sont développés dans plusieurs domaines de recherche, avec pour objectif principal de renforcer l'orientation citoyenne dans les organisations publiques et de répondre aux exigences accrues des citoyens. Nous pouvons offrir notre expertise pratique et théorique sur des concepts et méthodes innovants tels que :

Coproduction

Les organisations publiques coproduisent de plus en plus de services publics avec leurs utilisateurs. La coproduction de services publics est généralement comprise comme l'implication des citoyens et d'autres acteurs extérieurs à l'administration publique dans la conception, la production et la fourniture de services publics [3]. Les citoyens jouent ainsi le rôle d'un partenaire plutôt que d'un client dans la fourniture des services publics. La coproduction est souvent considérée comme un moteur de la création d'innovations visant à accroître la valeur publique dans le secteur public [4], d'une plus grande légitimité, d'une plus grande efficience et efficacité du gouvernement et d'une plus grande responsabilité [5].

Pratiques agiles dans les organisations publiques

Agile est un mot à la mode qui trouve son origine dans le développement de logiciels. Les projets de développement de logiciels étaient généralement traités selon l'approche traditionnelle en cascade : Chaque phase du projet doit être achevée avant que l'équipe puisse passer à la phase suivante [6]. Ce processus séquentiel est inefficace, notamment parce qu'il est difficile de réagir aux changements externes et internes et qu'une évaluation n'est possible qu'à la fin d'un processus complet [7]. Par rapport à l'approche en cascade, une approche agile se concentre sur des phases de développement plus courtes et sur une collaboration radicale avec le client ou l'utilisateur final (ex : citoyen) à chaque phase [6]. Les pratiques agiles dans les organisations publiques peuvent être comprises comme un terme générique ou une approche à plusieurs niveaux [6] qui décrit un ensemble de routines, de structures et de processus (par exemple Scrum, Kanban, équipes transversales, hiérarchies plates, rétrospectives, ou « Design Thinking ») qui ont pour objectif global de conduire à un changement culturel dans les organisations publiques [7].

Réduire la charge administrative (« administrative burden ») pour les citoyens

La charge administrative (CA) survient souvent lorsque les citoyens interagissent avec des organisations publiques. Burden et al. (2012) définissent « charge administrative » comme une phase lourde et contraignante à laquelle est soumis un individu lors de la mise en œuvre d'une politique. Les citoyens se soucient autant, voire plus, du processus de leur interaction avec l'État que du résultat [9]. Il est donc essentiel pour les citoyens de percevoir leur interaction avec l'État comme juste, équitable et respectueuse [9]. Certaines CA servent des objectifs légitimes, par exemple pour prévenir la fraude dans les programmes de protection sociale [9]. Cependant, dans de nombreux cas, les CA imposent des coûts aux citoyens. Moynihan et al. (2015) distinguent trois types de coûts pour les citoyens : Les coûts d'apprentissage (tel que le processus de recherche pour acquérir des informations sur les services publics), les coûts psychologiques (notamment les demandes intrusives ainsi que la perte d'autonomie et l'augmentation du stress découlant des processus du programme) et les coûts de conformité (suivre les règles et exigences administratives).

Nous offrons des services de conseil pour la planification stratégique, la mise en œuvre ou l'évaluation de votre projet. Nous serions ravis de pouvoir collaborer avec vous :

Neumann.png

Prof. Oliver Neumann
Oliver.Neumann@unil.ch

Kirklies.png

Pascale-Catherine Kirklies (Doctorante et Assistante diplômée)
pascale-catherine.kirklies@unil.ch

Références

[1] Indihar Stemberger, M., & Jaklic, J. (2007). Towards E-government by business process change—A methodology for public sector. International Journal of Information Management, 27(4), 221–232. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ijinfomgt.2007.02.006

[2] Mergel, I., Gong, Y., & Bertot, J. (2018). Agile government: Systematic literature review and future research. Government Information Quarterly, 35(2), 291–298. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.giq.2018.04.003

[3] Voorberg, W. H., Bekkers, V. J. J. M., & Tummers, L. G. (2015). A Systematic Review of Co-Creation and Co-Production: Embarking on the social innovation journey. Public Management Review, 17(9), 1333–1357. https://doi.org/10.1080/14719037.2014.930505

[4] Bovaird, Tony, & Loeffler, E. (2012). From Engagement to Co-production: The Contribution of Users and Communities to Outcomes and Public Value. VOLUNTAS: International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations, 23(4), 1119–1138. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11266-012-9309-6

[5] Verschuere, B., Brandsen, T., & Pestoff, V. (2012). Co-production: The State of the Art in Research and the Future Agenda. VOLUNTAS: International Journal of Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations, 23(4), 1083–1101. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11266-012-9307-8

[6] Mergel, I. (2016). Agile innovation management in government: A research agenda. Government Information Quarterly, 33(3), 516–523. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.giq.2016.07.004

[7] Mergel, I., Ganapati, S., & Whitford, A. B. (2020). Agile: A New Way of Governing. Public Administration Review, puar.13202. https://doi.org/10.1111/puar.13202

[8] Burden, B. C., Canon, D. T., Mayer, K. R., & Moynihan, D. P. (2012). The Effect of Administrative Burden on Bureaucratic Perception of Policies: Evidence from Election Administration. Public Administration Review, 72(5), 741–751. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1540-6210.2012.02600.x

[9] Moynihan, D., Herd, P., & Harvey, H. (2015). Administrative Burden: Learning, Psychological, and Compliance Costs in Citizen-State Interactions. Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory, 25(1), 43–69. https://doi.org/10.1093/jopart/muu009

Suivez nous:        

Responsable de l'unité

Prof_oliver-neuman_HD-resize450x196.jpg

Prof. Oliver Neumann
+41 21 692 69 20
+41 76 749 72 60
Oliver.Neumann@unil.ch

Partagez:
Rue de la Mouline 28 - CH-1022 Chavannes-près-Renens
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 68 00
Fax +41 21 692 68 09